It is no secret how much I value the role of community manager. I am pleased to see so many newly created community manager positions each week and I often share links to some of the more interesting job openings on Twitter.

Two of the most recent that I shared just this week were at eHarmony and Land’s End. (Check my twitter feed if you want to see more.)
I know I’m not alone in this because those are some of my most popular tweets. They are shared by many and that says a lot about this work. It has been deemed crucial and these new positions are calls for action.

I also get a great deal of emails from other community managers asking me a multitude of questions from dealing with irrational troublemakers to methods for recruiting new members and luring lurkers into becoming active participants. I answer them all. The private exchanges are great, but those answers could be helpful to so many more.

I’ve been thinking and I feel that it is time for me to kick this thing up a notch. I have something in the works that I believe will be an excellent resource for active community managers and those who are new to the craft. Yes, I call this a craft.
What I’d like to ask of you is 10 minutes of your time to complete a survey that will aid this effort.
I know that 10 minutes can feel like an hour, and if you don’t have the time now, do come back when you have more time to spare.

I’ve grown an online community from zero, to nearly 14 thousand members and we are just beyond the two year mark. It is extremely difficult, all encompassing and can make you feel isolated if no one in your organization really understand what you’re charged with or actually up against.

I think I can help us all, with your help. So please fill out the survey. If you know any other community managers, forward them the link as well.
I will provide a free autographed copy of my book, 18 Rules of Community Engagement to the first person to complete the survey and will randomly pick two more in the next few weeks.

Thank you so much for supporting me by reading Online Community Strategist. And please let me know if I can do anything for you in return.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to Online Community Strategist by Email

