If you’re looking for an easy way to get your community members talking, write a quick blog complaining about an issue in your life and they will quickly commiserate.

It’s human nature, and people simply cannot resist the urge to chime in and tell their own stories.  Throw out a topic and let them run with it. Keep in mind though, that it  has to be something they can relate to, so don’t go on and on about something that matters only to you and expect people to care enough to jump on board.

Were you stuck in traffic this morning? If so, you weren’t the only one. Complain about that, and stories of individual traffic woes will follow. Trust me. l do it all the time in my Editor’s Blog and it works.  I even devote an entire chapter to the benefits that complaining can provide in my new book, which by the way is now available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.com.

I recall complaining about  gas prices last summer and I was in good company. Remember those insane prices?  Who didn’t want  to complain about that?

Try it. Everyone can stand a little free commiseration.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Subscribe in a reader

