I had the pleasure of interviewing author John Cass today for a chapter of my upcoming book, 18 Rules of Community Engagement. Cass is the author of the book, Strategies and Tools for Corporate Blogging and a great interview.

The 20-minute phone conversation resulted in two pages of great notes, but I found one thing he said to be so prolific and dead on, that I am going to give it its own blogpost. Here it is:

“Social Media tools don’t matter. What does matter is whether or not a company has an engagement strategy.”

He had me at hello.
A social media strategy is important, but if it doesn’t include how you will get people to care, it isn’t worth the paper it’s printed on. That’s my personal and professional opinion.

Anyone agree?

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the feed to have future posts delivered to your feed reader.

Stumble It!

Share on FriendFeed
Get the blog delivered to your inbox

Online Community Strategist

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

