I’m always talking about engaging your community. I find it a key aspect of growing an online community. If you don’t show your human side and interact with the people who spend so much of their time in your space, you’re not tapping into its potential.

Blogging about it is good and I hope you find it helpful, but sometimes showing is better. So, here is a list of all of my public exchanges with GOLO members from Monday and Tuesday of this week. It does not include various email exchanges or time spent in the chat area discussing issues and seeking feedback. Some of the comments may be a bit out of context because I was responding to a question or request, but the goal is to give you a few ideas.

  • Oh it will be fine! I’ll e-mail you when I get in so we can coordinate a good time. Good morning, BTW. I’m making lunches. Always like to check in and see what’s happening in the am hours. Later, -Angela…
  • Hi. We need to schedule your profile. My calendar is filling up quickly. How’s tomorrow?
  • If you’re inundated with e-mails–create filters and rules that send them to different mailboxes. That’s the only way I stay sane. -Angela
  • Tomorrow at 2:30. Send me a good number for you to aconnor@cbcnewmedia.com. -Angela
    Jan. 5, 2009
  • Hey there GOLO Animal Lovers group! I just posted two new NCSU pet clinical trials in need of dogs with osteoarthritis. Don’t know if you know any, but thought I’d pass it along. You can find the two latest here: http://www.wral.com/lifestyles/pets/asset_gallery/2427471/ -Angela
  • Powerful post today! -Angela
    Jan. 5 4:32 p.m.
  • Welcome to GOLO, Martin. There are a lot of good people here. We care about our members. Please feel free to blog about your feelings or other issues related to what’s going on. You’ll be surprised by…
  • Congrats on that BEAUTIFUL baby! Thanks for sharing on GOLO! -Angela
    Today at 9:31 a.m.
  • So you’re going to compete with GOLO chat now? Just ask me to open it, mister! 🙂
  • BTW– thanks to ALL of you who do keep it clean in GOLO chat! I greatly appreciate it. Off to a 1030 meeting…
  • Hey Sandra: What’s the latest on your first Blog for hope? Were all the items taken?
  • Welcome back Lady!
  • Welcome to GOLO ! -Angela
  • Hi there Arthur! Your blogs will show up on the short list in a few days. You have to be a member for a little longer before your blogs show up on the most recent list on the homepage, though they do show up on the most recent list on the homepage, though they do show up on the longer list you get by selecting “show more.” Hope that helps. -Angela
  • That is a great gallery of Jayda and Creech. I posted it on the WRAL.com pet page. -Angela
  • I see you’re at the top of the popular list today! Happy New Year. -Angela
  • Done. My best to your uncle! -Angela
  • Hi Gina: Thanks for the compliment! Believe it or not, I do my own hair. I only go to a professional to get it trimmed or cut into a new style.
  • NM-Yes. I second that. LOL!
  • Want me to call her? J/K! Good luck. You know that GOLO will help you do what’s right. I agree with everyone here that you have a good heart.
  • Hi there, I want to tell you personally that I removed your blog. Not because of the content for which you are responsible, but for the comments which you are not. You may not see this as fair so that is why I wanted to reach out to you personally. The comments were way way out of hand and there is no place for all of that on GOLO. -Angela

I hope you found that helpful.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Get the blog delivered to your inbox

Online Community Strategist

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Share on FriendFeed

