Whenever I create or cull content for my online community, I tend to think long tail. Sure, I capitalize on the news and interests of the day to drive conversation, but oftentimes I do it in such a way that it will bring people back to read the comments even when the subject-matter isn’t as fresh.

For instance, instead of starting a simple blog about the state of the economy, I asked the community: “Are you worried about losing your job?” It’s still going strong and is now up to 146 comments.

When you have an idea or even when you’re perusing content to see how you can bring it all together in a more meaningful way, think long tail. Sometimes it’s simply the way you present it, or the way you phrase your headline. You can’t lose with long-tail content.

Start building your arsenal today!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

