In yesterday’s post, I expressed my dismay over the lack of advertising and marketing interest in online communities. I think it’s a big mistake and concluded that the main reason for this lack of participation must be time. They simply don’t have the time to invest in these communities to reap the benefits.
Yes, I know…it likely has everything to do with scale. Been there, heard that. Over it.

Peter Kim wrote an excellent post about social media marketing’s scalability problem back in August. And it is certainly an issue. I will acknowledge that.

But I’m also reading in countless blogs about how companies are now aware that it’s time to shift strategies, embrace social media and “join the conversation.” That conversation does exist beyond Facebook and twitter, and even a corporate blog, though some haven’t embraced those yet either.

Bryan Person listed what he calls some obvious reasons why marketers aren’t jumping into some of the conversations taking place in online communities, such as the one about Lasik eye surgery, that I mentioned in yesterday’s post. Here they are:

  1. They (or their PR reps) aren’t doing a good job of monitoring the social web, and they haven’t seen this conversation.
  2. They *are* monitoring, see the mentions, and it just takes time to respond.
  3. They *are* monitoring, see the mentions, and don’t know exactly how to respond.
  4. They *are* monitoring and see the mentions, but the high volume makes it impossible or unrealistic to jump into all conversations (for many brands, this is certainly the case.)
  5. They *are* monitoring, following the conversations, and simply choose not to respond.

I bet Bryan’s right, and all five of those instances certainly occur. Richard Millington agrees with Bryan. He chimed in with this:

I would add that too many companies focus on the macro sales rather than the micro sales. They don’t realize that the macro attempts nearly always push people away, whilst the micro always draws people closer to the company.

BINGO! Someone hand Richard the door prize! Micro sales. That’s it!

Now, if you’re a marketer, please tell me why the time investment isn’t worth it. And how do we make this paradigm shift from macro sales to micro sales?

It has to happen. And like I said yesterday, I’m going to help lead the charge.

I still don’t know how, but as long as we keep talking about it, we’ll figure it out.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

