I am all about breaking new ground with social media and finding new ways to embrace the concept. I’ve been known to sing it from the mountain tops, particularly when it comes to traditional news media.

I feel that news organizations need to find new ways to reach their readers/viewers/users and prove their worth in the space. Many are doing it and that excites me. I am cheering them on and watching everyone I can. I’m proud to be part of an organization that’s doing it and leading the charge.

That said, I was a bit miffed when I read about a news organization twittering the funeral of a 3-year-old.

Twitter a hurricane? YES.

Twitter a court case? YES! Ron Sylvester of The Witchita Eagle and Kansas.com does a heck of job with that.

But a funeral of a 3-year-old who was killed at an ice cream store?

Seems a bit insensitive to me. Others clearly agree.

Michael Roberts: “After all, Twittering a child’s funeral is a mission more doomed than Jimmy Carter’s attempt to rescue those hostages from Iran back in the day. The results are self-satirizing in the most morbid, inappropriate way possible.”

Cara Degette: “Whatever their rationale, it’s unconceivable. Utterly, and unforgivingly, unconceivable.”

On this one, I would have to agree. What are your thoughts?

You can view all updates here, on the Rocky Mountain News’ website.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

