It’s only Tuesday but I am off to a seriously productive week.
My to-do list was cut in half yesterday, and I’ve posted some pretty intriguing blogs, stroked a few egos and offered up some cool ideas to members of my online community hoping they’ll run with it. I’ve also gotten the green light to make a few changes that I feel will improve the user-experience a great deal. All good news.
So why am I feeling such a void?

I think it’s because I’ve been somewhat MIA from Twitter for the last two days. And I’m realizing that I don’t like it.
I’ve come to depend on those I follow to give me a cool snippet of information or point me in the direction of a compelling story or must-read blog, or to simply post something that I can say to someone else and seem pretty profound for saying it.
So, while I typically use this blog to dole out advice about engaging online communities and to go on and on about how I manage to do it on a daily basis, I’ve come to a realization.
The one doing all of the “engaging” is actually being “engaged.”

Twitter is engaging and I miss it when I can’t be there. But it’s not because of any ONE person. It’s what I get from everyone there as a whole that means so much. Twitter is the sum of it’s parts apparently and it just may take a twitter village to engage a fellow twitterer.
Well, my village is doing one heck of a job and that is why it has been missed.

I have to say though, that I have somehow culled a lesson from this and maybe you can too. It seems that as I continue to grow my own community and seek to engage others, I need to focus more on what my members collectively bring to the table. If I want my users to miss this community, the way I’ve missed twitter, I need to tap into the village and organize.

If we, as community managers can somehow highlight content in such a way that there’s something valuable there for everyone on any given day, they’ll want to come back, and they will.
Agree?

