I love it when the members of my community make suggestions. Most of the time. It tells me that they care enough to want to see improvements or a better user experience, and I think that’s a good thing.

Some ideas are good. Some aren’t. Some I definitely consider, and others are simply way off base. BUT, no matter what I think about the suggestions, I acknowledge them, thank the member for caring enough to make a suggestion and let them know that it has been “duly noted” or “added to my list.” Depending on the topic, I may even divulge that it’s been under discussion and we’re considering it.

How’s that for non-committal?

But seriously, what I’ve found is that most members just want to be heard. They want to know that you value their input and that when push comes to shove, they matter.

Do your community members matter? If you don’t know the answer to that, neither do they.

Take some time to let them know, and see what a difference it can make.

