In my quest to deliver an informative message to the audience at tomorrow’s seminar,  I decided to reach out to a GOLO member who I’ve watched for a while.  She runs a business and has in my opinion, discovered how to co-exist in an online community by choosing the right balance of promotion and engagement. I asked Diedre Hughey, of Dancing Elephants to share some of her experiences in the GOLO community so that I could share what I deem to be her success story.  

Deidre wrote something in her first sentence that I think is very imprtant.  She said you have to have a “BURNING desire to get your message out to the public.”  I could be wrong but I attribute some of that  to the time commitment required to gain respect in these communities.

One message that I hope to send tomorrow is the importance of interacting within the community and refraining from pushing your product or service every time you post. It’s important to engage and interact with people, and understand that they don’t want you to slam your product down their throats.  If you do, you will be rejected and getting back in the good graces of the community will be virtually impossible.

Diedre indicated in the e-mail that it can be tough and she has wondered if the community is indeed her target audience.  But one thing she finds valuable is the ability to fine-tune ideas by seeing if they resonate with users, stir controversy, or “fall flat.” 

As I looked over my presentation, I was pleased to see that I’d mentioned much of what Diedre shared with me and I now feel like I’m on the right track.

So, wish me luck tomorrow and I’ll be sure to blog about the experience.

Angela  

 

